Clinton Elementary

About Us

About Us

The history of Clinton, MT starts in the 1880’s when there was a stage station on Mullan Road called the Better’s Station.  In 1889 the town of Clinton was officially named after Henry Clinton, a supervisor of the Charcoal Mine located in Missoula.  The Clinton Post Office opened in 1892 and as of 1895 a Clinton School is on the register for Montana public schools.  The original school house was located behind where our current school is.  It was a four room structure with outhouses, a hand pump water well and a stable area for students who rode to school on horseback.  (Clinton community newsletter, June 2017)

There were several other schools in the areas surrounding Clinton until 1933 when the citizens from Quigley, Rock Creek, Clinton, Bonita and the Baird-Nimrod voted to consolidate their schools into one larger school district. This became what we now know as the Clinton School, District #32. 

From the 1930’s until present time, Clinton has continued to grow with those wanting to escape the daily bustle of Missoula.  Our school now hovers around 200 students Kindergarten through Eighth grade.  We have a stellar staff of 17 teachers, along with several paraprofessionals, support and administrative staff.  We offer a variety of sports including flag football, volleyball, boys and girls’ basketball and track and we have been fortunate enough to offer an After School Program the past several years which has given our students an opportunity to explore art, music, cooking, quilting and exercise. We also have a strong music program, with honor band and choir. 

We believe strongly in equal opportunity education and we are proud of the support received from parents, staff and our community, that allows our students to learn, grow and become great citizens of our state!

Early Clinton School ca: 1890's

Early Clinton School ca: 1890's

Early Clinton School ca: 1900's

Early Clinton School ca: 1900's